This article provides information on what to expect when you or a team member leaves a team. It addresses:
- How role access gets transferred.
- What happens to elements created in your Postman team after you leave your team.
- A Postman element can be an HTTP request, a WebSocket request, a gRPC request, a collection, an environment, a workspace, an API documentation, a mock server, a monitor, an API, or a flow.
- For a better understanding of this article, make sure you are familiar with the concept of workspaces.
The process of leaving a team differs if there are remaining team members. This article covers what to expect depending on your use case:
I am not the last member to leave a team
- You will no longer have access to any of the elements in team workspaces once you have left the team, regardless of if you created them.
- The team will still have access to all of the elements you have created, except for monitors.
- If you are the only member who has joined the team workspace, all team members will be granted the Workspace Admin role.
Note: Personal workspaces are visible only to you.
- All of your personal workspaces and the elements inside them will remain with your individual account after you leave a team.
- Any elements created in your personal workspace and that were moved to a team workspace are owned by the team. If you leave a team, those elements will stay with the team and will no longer be accessible to you.
- Elements in the team’s public workspaces you belong to will not move to your individual account once you have left the team.
- If you are an Admin or a Community Manager for the workspace, the visibility of the workspace continues to be public after you leave.
- If you are the only member who has joined the public workspace, any member of your Postman team will have access control as an Admin on the public workspace.
- You will no longer have access to any of the elements in private workspaces once you have left the team, regardless of if you created them or were a member of the workspace.
- If you are the only member who has joined the private workspace, any member of your Postman team will have access control as an Admin on the workspace.
I am the last member to leave a team
Note: When you are the last member to leave, the team will be deleted and you won’t be able to restore it.
In the process of leaving your team, all the elements inside your team workspaces will migrate over to your individual account. You will be able to locate them in your personal workspaces.
Note: To access your personal workspace once you have left the team, go to the Postman app, and select Workspaces > My Workspace.
- You won’t be able to leave your team until you change the visibility of your Public workspaces to Team.
- The Public workspace won’t be referenced in the Public API Network anymore and the link redirecting to the public workspace will throw an error.
All the elements of your private workspaces will migrate over to your personal workspaces when you are the last member to leave the team.